Three prominent former councillors given honorary roles

Three prominent former county councillors have been appointed to the role of Honorary Alderman in recognition of their eminent service during their time as elected members at Oxfordshire County Council.

Former councillors Anne Purse who was a cabinet member until 2005 and chairman in 2014/15 and represented the Wheatley area until 2017; Judith Heathcoat who represented Faringdon and was deputy leader of the council until 2021; and John Sanders who served as the county councillor for Cowley until 2021 and was also chairman of the council in 2015/16 are the three councillors to be appointed.

Current county councillors recently voted unanimously to endorse the three new appointments.

The appointment of an Honorary Alderman is to confer recognition on former councillors who, over a period of time, made a significant contribution to the council in particular and public service in general. They are lifetime awards.

The Alderman is entitled to use the title of ‘Honorary Alderman of the County of Oxfordshire’, to wear the badge of ‘Honorary Alderman’ at civic events and to attend the Aldermanic Council Meeting every four years.

A badge of office is prepared for each duly appointed Honorary Alderman. The certificate of appointment has the county council’s coat of arms at the top, and is sealed with the common seal of the Council of Oxfordshire, witnessed by the chair of the council and chief executive.

Councillor Liz Leffman the leader of Oxfordshire County Council said: “Anne Purse, Judith Heathcoat and John Sanders are warmly and affectionately remembered by officers and councillors alike at Oxfordshire County Council. They made huge and valued contributions to the work of the council and these appointments are just recognition for years spent in the service of the people of Oxfordshire.”