New Cabinet at Oxfordshire County Council

Leader and Deputy set to remain unchanged

Councillor Ian Hudspeth remains the leader of the county council – having originally taken on the role in May 2012. His responsibilities will include major external partnerships, regional issues, economic development and liaison with the Oxford City Local Strategic Partnership and the city council.

Councillor Rodney Rose will continue in the role of deputy leader of the county council having originally taken on this role in May 2012. His responsibilities include emergency planning, strategic rail issues and internal management. He will also be responsible for liaison with West Oxfordshire District Council and the West Oxfordshire Local Strategic Partnership.

Six councillors remain on the Cabinet

Six members of Councillor Hudspeth’s pre-election Cabinet will remain in post. Councillor Arash Fatemian takes on the role of Cabinet Member for Finance, Councillor Melinda Tilley retains the role of Cabinet Member for Children, Education and Families and Councillor Louise Chapman becomes Cabinet Member for Policy Co-Ordination with responsibilities for fire and rescue, trading standards, equalities, localities and community cohesion.

Councillor Nick Carter continues in the role of Cabinet Member for Business and Customer Services.

CouncillorJudith Heathcoat will be Cabinet member for adult social care as well as having responsibility for liaison with the Vale of White Horse District Council and the Vale of White Horse Local Strategic Partnership.

Councillor Hilary Hibbert-Biles is Cabinet Member Public Health and the Voluntary Sector as well as having responsibility for Cherwell District Council and Cherwell Local Strategic Partnership liaison.

New Cabinet members

Two new Cabinet members have been proposed. Councillor Lorraine-Lindsay Gale is Cabinet member for Community Services including the Registration Service, libraries, the Coroner’s Service, adult learning and cultural services. She had previously been a cabinet member until 2012.

Councillor David Nimmo-Smith is Cabinet Member for Environment with responsibilities for strategic planning within Oxfordshire, the Oxfordshire minerals strategy, waste management, environmental management and transport. He would also have responsibility for South Oxfordshire District Council liaison and South Oxfordshire Local Strategic Partnership.

Councillor Hudspeth, the Leader of Oxfordshire County Council, said: “This is a team packed with experience and knowledge of both the county council and Oxfordshire. We’re all looking forward to the challenges ahead, chief among which will be the task that all local councils will have of managing the finances during a time of national austerity.

“As a Cabinet we will be committed to working with all political parties at the county council to bring about common sense financial management, stability and both direction and purpose to policy looking forward.”

New Chairman of the Council

Councillor Timothy Hallchurch, previously the Deputy Chairman, has been elected as the Chairman of the county council. Councillor Hallchurch represents the Otmoor Division and will serve as Chairman for the 2013/14 council year. Councillor Anne Purse, who represents the Wheatley Division, was elected as Deputy Chairman.

The Chairman is the ceremonial head of the council and the civic leader. He or she presides over meetings of the full council and acts in a politically impartial way. The Chairman acts as an ambassador for promoting the objectives and services of the county council and Oxfordshire, and will attend appropriate events throughout the county.