New administration formed at Oxfordshire County Council

A new administration has been formed at Oxfordshire County Council following the 6 May elections.

The final shape of the council following the election count on 9 May was: Conservative 22 seats; Liberal Democrats 21 seats; Labour 15 seats; Greens 3 seats; Henley Residents Group 1 seat; independent councillors 1 seat.

A total of 32 of the 63 seats are required to form a majority and no one individual party reached this number. The Liberal Democrat, Labour and Green groups have now agreed to form a new administration. The new leader of the council will be Councillor Liz Leffman. The deputy leader will be Councillor Liz Brighouse (with responsibilities for education, children’s services and youth services).

Other cabinet member appointments are as follows:

  • Cabinet Member for Corporate Services: Councillor Glynis Phillips
  • Cabinet Member for Community Services and Safety: Councillor Neil Fawcett
  • Cabinet Member for Climate Change Delivery and Environment: Councillor Pete Sudbury
  • Cabinet Member for Travel and Development Strategy: Councillor Duncan Enright
  • Cabinet Member for Highway Management: Councillor Tim Bearder
  • Cabinet Member for Public Health and Equality: Councillor Damian Haywood.
  • Cabinet Member for Finance: Councillor Calum Miller
  • Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care: Councillor Jenny Hannaby

New Chair

The new Chair of the county council will be Councillor John Howson who served as Vice-Chair to the outgoing Chair Councillor Les Sibley. The new Vice-Chair will be Councillor Susannah Pressel.